top of page

Newport

My word it gets hot here!

Woke around 7am & got ready to leave the house around 9am, driving in the mustang again, to Newport. Newport is a really quaint town, that could easily be mistaken for a village just because of the feel of the place & the shops & restaurants there. I don't think I saw a single chain store there - at least not any that I recognized. It's right on the coast & is a fishing town so there were loads of fishy smells & sea/boat themed items, as well as coastal & harbor tours. I had to get some factor 50 sun-cream as I could feel myself burning by 9:45!

We wandered around the shops & looked in an old antique store that was huge, & I was amazed at how friendly everyone is. People actually talk to each other here!

It's really strange & to an introvert like me, it's horrible! I feel awkward & don't know what to say or how to act, apart from repeating "thank you" a thousand times & nodding my head & smiling a lot. Adam, however,often instigates the small talk, having grown up in that culture & being the polite gentleman he is. I just shrink inside myself, smile, & hope people don't expect many answers!

On the way home around midday, when it was just too hot to carry on, Adam took me to a place called 'International Pocket Cafe' where I had a grilled chicken & falafel wrap & shared some chips with Adam. We also had a baklava each, which is new to me & really tasty. The whole meal was really good, & good value for money too. I really needed it because where I hadn't had any breakfast & it was so hot, I was beginning to feel a little lightheaded & dizzy.

After a quick stop at Home Depot, we headed back to chill out for a bit. I chatted to Chris on video call, catching up on his weekend of work gathering, Hyper Japan, & friends BBQ, before having a snooze. Adam went to do some work in his workshop, so I went down & joined him, reading my book & listening to music on a comfy recliner he brought out for me. We finished the evening with popcorn & the latest episode of Game Of Thrones.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page