top of page

Heading to RI

My goodness, what a long day! Up at 5am to get ready & go to work, which was normal but I was counting down the hours until I got on the plane to America. I practically ran out of ASDA, drove home to clean out the rabbits, leave a note for my neighbor, shower, & grab together a few last minute things as well as emptying my phone of pictures before my Mum turned up at 11:30 to drive me to the airport. At the airport, I had lots of time before boarding so bought a pen, notebook, crisscross puzzle book, & lunch from Nando's. We all had to wait about 45 minutes to board the plane after we were called to the gate due to 'technical difficulties' & once we were on the plane, we had to wait a while before take-off because there was a lot of traffic. The flight was fine - I had a good seat with lots of leg room & next to a window, but still found it very hard to sleep. I read a bit of my book, watched 'Arrival', had lunch/dinner, & really tried to sleep. Had to wait a while to get off the plane, & even longer to go through customs. I spent over an hour waiting, & when I finally got seen, I was quizzed & questioned. Finally through, it only took five minutes to grab my suitcase & head out to meet Adam. I was drained but so happy to finally see Adam again - five years is too long to go without seeing your best friend!

He picked me up in his truck & we headed to Olive Garden to get some dinner. I wanted to go to Olive Garden as it was something on 'my list'; we don't have them in the UK & I hear about them all the time in films. I had a salad to start & shared some bread sticks with Adam - the famous bread sticks are literally just sticks of bread, with a garlic butter glaze. I had 'eggplant parmigiana' with spaghetti & realised that I have a real issue with the word 'eggplant' - it's aubergine! Olive Garden is alright; wouldn't say it's amazing but it's an Italian chain & it's usually the staff that make that sort of place good. Adam paid, which was very sweet of him, then we headed out for the rest of the journey.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page