top of page

Our Engagement

This is a day I will always remember.

Thought yesterday was perfect after I passed my driving test while on holiday?

It was nothing compared with today!

Chris woke me this morning, and I admit, I was less than happy about it. I'm incredibly grumpy in the morning if someone wakes me up when I'm not ready to be woken or aren't expecting it! After being given some cereal in bed, and then showering, Chris & I packed up our things and hauled our bags into the car. I was still reeling from passing my driving test, so was pretty up-beat (once I'd woken up properly!) and we soon said our goodbyes to Stu, who went off to another lesson.

We set off for Cornwall. We would be staying in our tent at a camp site called Trevaylor in west Cornwall, about 5 minutes walk from the coast. We arrived, after stopping at KFC for lunch, and waited to be served. And waited. And waited. The woman was dealing with 3 people at once, after she had spoken to the guy in front of us – which took forever! She was booking us in, serving a little girl with an ice cream, and dealing with a guy who had just brought in a bulk order for things for the camp site. When we finally got to the end of our confirmation and she showed us to our pitch, we put up the tent, set the bed up, and sat in the glorious sun for a while.

Sitting next to our tent, with a can of Tango, legs on show (I had changed into a skirt because the weather had turned warm), basking in the sun, with my man at my side, and the knowledge that I am now a licensed driver, I was in heaven! Pure bliss.

The woman of the camp site had told us how to get to the coast and so, after a while of chilling out, we decided to check out the route to the cliff-line. With simple instructions, we made our way towards the sea, passing a herd of cows, several skittish rabbits and two sweet mares in a field, to whom I gave mints. We soon set eyes on the ocean, and with it, some fabulous views. There were several ruins of old buildings, left behind from the days of mining.

Photographing some, and taking in the scenery, Chris & I picked our way out over some of the rugged areas to get a better view of the waves crashing below. We met maybe 3 groups of people (and when I say "group" I mean, maybe 2 to 3 people) on the way as we made our way along the path. 'The Path' ran along the edge of the cliffs and down towards two ruined mining houses, and not much further.

When we got to the mining houses, we were just about to turn back when I saw that you could get around the back of the house. You could only actually get to one of the two houses, but there was a little walk way around the side of the ruin that led you around to the back of the house and from there you could see the second house more clearly. You could also see the edge of the cliffs as far as we had walked, with waves washing against the rocks and the hills smothered in green grass with a slight purple tinge where heather and other wild plants pitted the sides of the coastal path.

Here, after we had taken a few photos of each other and the scenery, Chris gave me a huge hug. While doing so, I felt him do something behind my back; I thought he was picking at something, so after a while, I asked him what he was doing.

He then pulled away from the hug, holding an open ring box, with ring inside, saying "I want to ask you a question." With that, my heart already in my mouth, he got down on one knee and said something along the lines of: "the last two years we've had together have been the best thing that has ever happened to me. I can't imagine anything I would rather do than spend the rest of my life with you. Will you marry me?"

"Yes!" straight away; "yes!" as I started to cry. Tears filled with emotions of joy, happiness, love & shock streaked down my face. Chris picked the one day I hadn't worn make up (not intentionally) but it was a good thing otherwise it would have been all over my face! I was laughing too. Just couldn't hold in the emotions – and I didn't want to. I slipped the ring (which is gorgeous) on my finger and hugged and kissed Chris. He turned me around to look out over the sea, with the cliffs to my left and sun & horizon on my right, and said that he wanted me to remember the scene and have this in my mind. How can I ever forget?!

We took a few more pictures – lining the camera up to take a shot of the two of us together at that place to remember and look back on in years to come. While doing so, Chris showed me just how much he was shaking! We both were, but Chris's hand was like jelly! We then started walking back, aching to get a phone signal so I could call my Mum and tell her the amazing news. Because we were so out in the sticks, we had no signal where we were and had to walk at least 10 minutes until we had signal! I called Mum & told her – she already knew (which Chris had told me) but was thrilled to hear it and got all emotional over the phone, which set me off again! After talking to her, Chris called his Mum and just said "Chilli said yes" before having a chat with her, and then Matt, as Christine passed the phone to him. After our phone calls, a family of three rounded the corner and we asked them to take our picture so we could have a good photo of the two of us of that day, that moment, with that view. I told them the good news: wanted to tell the world!

We headed back to the tent and decided to have dinner at the small bar that was situated on the camp site. When we walked in, the owners were there (that woman & her husband) and they asked us how our walk went & if we had a nice time! Chris & I sorted of looked at each other and said "you could say that!" then told them that he had just proposed to me. After saying their congratulations, the man said for us to have a drink on the house! I had a baileys, while Chris had a JD & coke, and we went & sat down in the small sitting area in the conservatory at the back of the bar to have our food. We both had lasagna with garlic bread & a small side salad. The lasagna was lovely, and with it, I had another drink; archers & lemonade, while Chris had a coke to quench his thirst. Just as we started to eat, Chris ask if they had any champagne. We weren't really expecting them to because it's not the sort of thing a camp site bar would have – especially one as small as that one!

They came back at the end of the meal with a small bottle. They said that it hadn't been chilled so they put in the freezer for a while to try and give it a quick cooling off! Chris & I were wondering if they had to actually maybe go and get one from somewhere! But we got it and it was good. The perfect drink to celebrate anything with.

We had a really sickly dessert each – I had something called a chocolate pot, which was...a pot of chocolate?! It was more like a cream than a moose, but was soooo sickly, it must been the first dessert in a long time where I've not been able to finish it! I also had same small marshmallows with it. Chris had chocolate ice cream, with chocolate buttons and chocolate sauce! He couldn't finish his either!

Afterwards, we staggered back to the tent and sat watching the full moon rise over the fields in the distance.

Oh My Gods

I'M ENGAGAED!

And what an amazing and romantic way to propose?!

I'M ENGAGAED!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page